Move Over New York, I Think I’ve Found My New Love!

Today I fell in love with Edinburgh.

edinburgh2

Edinburgh is a University town and the cooler weather makes it feel like the beginnings of fall back home in Canada. It’s not hard to imagine why I felt so at home in this wonderful city.

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

After the hustle and bustle of the stylish in London, it was so nice to relax into Edinburgh and fall under the Scottish spell. As I walked the streets and closes, everywhere I went I could hear the bagpipers playing. Even up at Calton Hill I could hear them playing faintly from below. This is exactly how I imagined Scotland to be and this city has certainly lived up to my expectations.

Calton Hill

Calton Hill

Photographs of Edinburgh do not do this place justice. You have to be here to understand the beauty of the castle and Arthur’s seat framing the ancient city below. The architecture is indescribable and hauntingly beautiful. Even the graveyards have a mysticism to them. This a town I will have a hard time describing when I get home! Its not only the beauty that is amazing, but its also largely the atmosphere that makes Edinburgh so magical.

Salisbury Crags

Salisbury Crags

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

The Scott Monument

The Scott Monument

My favourite area was in the Grass Market, this is a street filled with pubs and the perfect place to do some people watching. I sat here enjoying some delicious gelato from Mary’s Milk Bar and drank in my surroundings.

Grass Market Area

Grass Market Area

20150709_143734

Another awesome place to hang out and people watch is at the top of the Royal Mile, here is where you will find the buskers and the bag pipers. This is also where there will be the most tourists.

edinburgh3

Greyfriars Bobby

Greyfriars Bobby

If you are walking down the Royal Mile, make sure to stop in at St. Giles Cathedral for some stunning views and a peaceful break from the outside. Europe has some of the most amazing churches and cathedrals but it seems odd to me to pay admission to go into a church, and even more weird when there is a gift shop! I guess that is tourism for you though. St. Giles does not charge an admission but it costs you £2 for a photography permit – which I thought was an adorable way to handle the tourism situation. The church is really very beautiful though, definitely check it out.

St. Giles Cathedral

St. Giles Cathedral

St. Giles Cathedral

St. Giles Cathedral

Thanks for sharing my adventures with me!

Kiera

3 thoughts on “Move Over New York, I Think I’ve Found My New Love!

  1. Pingback: Budget Scotland! | Wanderlusted.

Leave a Reply

